and eating….

February 2, 2013 — 3 Comments

It’s probably unsurprising given my last post I’ve been craving some home cooking and something healthy, and thankfully I’ve managed to find a couple of places that serve up my kind of home-style food.

Bond Street is one of my favourite streets in NYC, I think it’s the architecture and cobble stones, but the restaurants and retail stores help – if I had a spare coupla million bucks I’d move there in a flash.

Bond Street2

Bond Street NYC

Even though this is a tiny street, The Smile is pretty easy to miss.  I only found about it when a friend of a friend, who was playing some live music in a clothes store a few doors down one thursday night, recommended we eat there before their set started – I’m now also trying to avoid spending all of my money at that store.

The entrance is below street level, which probably adds to the homely feel – supplemented by the amount of wood and soft lighting inside, and by the menu – it’s the sort of place you feel comfortable ripping open your bread roll and leaving it on the table while you have some Moroccan lamb meatballs, spaghetti in lemon cream, or roasted balsamic chicken.

The Smile

The Penny Farthing on the other hand is a pub around the corner from my place, and while I rarely venture there for a cleansing ale, I keep going back whenever I have a craving for mashed potatoes and meat.

Unlike the majority of places in Manhattan that just serve something with chips, (they serve something with chips too), these guys make some fantastic pub food.

I’m guessing it’s run by expats from the UK – all of their staff seem to hail from London or Dublin.

But it’s the menu that gives it away – fish and chips, cottage pie, bangers and mash – comfort food goodness!

The Penny Farthing

To complete the healing, I’m heading out at some stage this week to visit a ‘proper’ Italian deli, aka Pork Store, in Queens…

Photo 1: agendanewyork.com

Photo 2: nycgo.com

3 responses to and eating….

  1. 

    Cannot wait to try the pub! M forwarding this post to my husband because he heads frequently downtown for work. Thanks for the recommendations!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. East Village « Farbs Friday Research - April 19, 2013

    […] posted before about some of my favourite places to eat in the neighbourhood, I haven’t found anymore gems, but […]

Leave a Reply

